AVENS logo

Martin
Cabanes

Attorney Partner

Training

  • Barreau du Québec (2001)
  • LL.B., Université de Montreal (2000)

Expertise

  • Business law
  • Mergers and acquisitions
  • Financing
  • International development and expansion outside of Quebec.
  • Technology, intellectual property and start-ups
  • Strategic advisor for business development
  • Corporate law

Global Vision

Martin Cabanes is a born entrepreneur and has a deep-seated love for the field of business. His diverse background, as a lawyer and a front-runner of highly reputable corporations, turned him into a mature, devoted and competent advisor. Martin is a strategist who not only helps our clients understand and solve the complex challenges that they face, but also to identify until-then ignored opportunities and ultimately create value for his clients. He implements risk management strategies within our clients’ corporate framework and guides them through. While also having acquired an enviable reputation as a crisis manager, Martin constantly seeks to maintain a global understanding of our clients’ vision, mission and operations. Motivated by a strong business acumen, he is contagiously passionate, loves to be on the ground with our clients and, above all, to participate in their success.

The Business World

Martin can count on a large network, which not only includes competent professionals among many industries in Quebec and abroad, but also a lot of entrepreneurs and decision makers in both the public and private sectors.  All issues regarding the creation, operation, management and growth of corporations are essential components to Martin’s practice. His expertise extends to the revision of business models and processes (process mapping and flowcharts), as well as to succession planning, transferring family-owned corporations, technology and the protection of intellectual property and trade secrets.

Unique Expertise 

Martin has also developed two specific fields of expertise: the first one, in matters of wine, beer and spirits, benefits his many clients in the industry, in Canada and overseas. The second, in the field of Defence and Security, namely allows him to represent Canadian corporations before foreign governments, but also to act on behalf of foreign and Canadian corporations before various levels of government, notably Global Affairs Canada, the Trade Controls Bureau (export permits for controlled goods), the Canada Border service Agency (CBSA), Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC), the Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces.

All members of the firm are certified under the PWGSC’s Controlled Goods Program (CGP).

Contact us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

AVENS logo

Martin
Cabanes

Avocat Associé

Formation

  • Barreau du Québec (2001)
  • LL. B., Université de Montréal (2000)

Expertises

  • Droit des affaires
  • Fusions et acquisitions
  • Financement
  • Développement international et implantation hors Québec
  • Technologie, propriété intellectuelle et start-up
  • Conseils stratégiques pour le développement de l’entreprise
  • Droit corporatif

Vision globale

Entrepreneur dans l’âme, Martin Cabanes baigne dans le milieu des affaires depuis son plus jeune âge. Son parcours varié a fait de lui un avocat expérimenté, dévoué et compétent. Martin est reconnu pour sa vision stratégique et sa créativité, qui lui permettent non seulement de mener ses dossiers vers des résultats probants, mais aussi d’identifier des opportunités jusqu’alors ignorées et de créer de la valeur pour ses clients au passage. Martin sait comment accompagner les entrepreneurs dans la gestion des risques associés à tous les aspects de leur entreprise, et a acquis une réputation enviable comme gestionnaire de crise.  Martin cherche toujours à maintenir une compréhension globale des vision, mission et opérations de ses clients. Doté d’un sens des affaires aiguisé, il est animé d’une passion débordante, aime être sur terrain avec ses clients et surtout participer à leur succès.

Le monde des affaires

Martin peut aussi compter sur un réseau étendu, lequel inclut non seulement des professionnels compétents de plusieurs industries au Québec et outre-mer, mais aussi une pléthore d’entrepreneurs, et plusieurs décideurs au sein des secteurs public et privé. Tous les sujets touchant à la création, l’exploitation et la croissance d’une entreprise le passionnent et font partie de sa pratique. Son expérience s’étend de la révision de modèles d’affaires et de processus (process mapping, flowcharts), la rédaction de contrats complexes et/ou multi juridictionnels, en passant par la planification de la relève, les fusions et acquisitions, les restructurations, les changements de contrôle, les technologies et la protection de la propriété intellectuelle et des secrets de commerce.

Expertises uniques

Martin a aussi développé deux expertises particulières : la première, en matière de vins, bières et spiritueux, est offerte à plusieurs acteurs de l’industrie situés au Canada et à l’international. La deuxième, en matière de défense et sécurité, lui permet non seulement de représenter des entreprises canadiennes auprès de gouvernements étrangers, mais également des entreprises canadiennes et étrangères devant plusieurs agences canadiennes, incluant notamment Affaires Mondiales Canada, la Direction du Contrôle des Exportations (permis d’exportation de marchandises contrôlées), l’Agence Canadienne des Services Frontaliers (ACSF), le Ministère des Travaux Publics et Services Gouvernementaux du Canada (TPGSC), et le Ministère de la Défense Nationale et des Forces Armées Canadiennes.

Tous les membres de son cabinet sont certifiés par le Programme des Marchandises Contrôlées de TPGSC (PMC).

Restons en contact

  • Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.